Hunting for quinoa

Lining up for the sprint at Rally de las Bodegas

Happy Sunday everyone!

This week has been pretty good to me. I’ve had a decent amount of energy and I’ve definitely been kept busy between my two job, starting this blog, and all the daily activities of life. On Thursday, Mateo and I went to the opening day of Rally de las Bodegas, or The Wineries Rally, which began with a sprint. We met the organizers through work and they told us about the race which we wouldn’t have known about otherwise. It was way cooler than expected. See, I am  New Yorker through and through and I never learned to drive because I never really had to. Suffice it to say, I’m not exactly a car connoisseur but even I was blown away by these cars! Some were from the twenties and I was immediately transported to Downton Abbey haha. Others were sleek sports cars but all of them were unique and fun to look at.

IMG_3687

Number two–my favorite

After the race we headed home and made an epic seven-layer bowl. I told you before, I can’t get enough of the Mexican flavors and I don’t see an end in sight. In fact I just found cilantro at the Central Market today so I think you’ll be seeing more of the same soon. Sorry in advance! But really how good does this look…

IMG_3693

From bottom to top: rice, black beans (simmered for four hours…I kid you not…with onion and chili pepper), cheese, spicy salsa, guacamole, plain fat-free yogurt (as satisfying as sour cream!), and homemade hot sauce. Mmmmm. This was a huge bowl and I devoured every bite of it. I slept well last night and I think I have this insane bowl of food to thank.

Today breakfast was eggs plus left over beans and guac but I decided to get more creative with lunch. This afternoon I whipped together a quick quinoa salad. Now, let me tell you about this quinoa that I finally got my hands on. In a land of potatoes and more potatoes, where rice isn’t even very popular, I never thought I would get to eat quinoa! I knew that a few health food stores sold it in Mendoza somewhere but I couldn’t  justify the price so I kept my blinders on and didn’t try to find it. Well, now that we’re making a bit more money I decided to treat myself to some. It was glorious. Once the quinoa was ready I mixed it with one large tomato, one avocado, half a can of garbanzo beans, a drizzle of olive oil, juice from half a lemon, salt, pepper, and a sprinkle of cilantro. It turned out wonderfully and was the perfect bright and healthy lunch! Worth every penny (and it wasn’t even that expensive after all).

IMG_3699

Today is going to be a lazy Sunday. Mateo and I had to work yesterday for more than 12 hours so I’m ready to relax the day away. Hope you can too!

Standard

Leave a Reply

